News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: April 3, 2019

Residents Elect O’Neil, Chapman and Moore to Represent Edmond

Edmond residents made their selections on Tuesday for three open City Council seats with a total of 6,544 votes being cast in the election.  Dan O’Neil was selected to serve as Mayor, while David Chapman and Josh Moore will represent Wards 1 and 2, respectively.  All election results are unofficial until certified by the Oklahoma County Election Board.

Mr. O’Neil was selected to serve a two-year Mayoral term that will run through 2021.  He previously served as the Mayor of Edmond from 2007-2009.

Mr. Chapman and Mr. Moore are both first-time elected officials in the City of Edmond.  Their City Council appointments are for four years and will run through 2023.

A formal swearing-in ceremony for the candidates will take place in the Edmond City Council Chambers on Monday, May 6 at 6:00 pm.  A reception honoring the newly elected officials and the three outgoing Council Members will take place in the Downtown Community Center immediately following the swearing-in ceremony.

The Edmond City Council is comprised of five members: the Mayor and one member from each of Edmond’s four Wards. They serve part-time at the head of the City’s Council-Manager form of government. The Mayor’s annual salary is $6,000, and each Council member’s annual salary is $4,200.

The next City Council election will take place in 2021 for Mayor, Ward 3 and Ward 4.