News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: December 10, 2020

Filing Period Ends with Multiple Candidates for Each Open Seat

(UPDATE: Will Gattenby withdrew from the mayoral race on Friday, December 11th, so there will only be two candidates on the ballot for mayor.  State statute allows a candidate to withdraw within 48 hours after the closing of the filing period. The primary election on Tuesday, February 9th, will now only include the candidates running for Ward 3 and Ward 4.  As laid out in the City Charter, those primary elections will only be voted on by residents in those specific ward boundaries.  The general election on Tuesday, April 6th, will have all Edmond residents eligible to vote for candidates in all three open seats: Mayor, Ward 3 & Ward 4.

The filing period for individuals interested in running for one of the three open city council positions has ended.  The seats up for election in 2021 are Ward 3, Ward 4 and Mayor.  City council terms are for four years and the mayor serves a two-year term.)  

Elections for Edmond City Council are non-partisan.  As reported by the Oklahoma County Election Board, the following people have filed and meet the requirements of the Edmond City Charter.

Davis, Darrell A.
Gattenby, Will
Walters, Nathan
Boyd, Cody
Janis, Sheryl
Mugg, Christin
Buoy, Michael
Dahle, Ryan
Miller, David
Peterson, Stacie

All three seats have more than two candidates, so each will appear on a primary election ballot on Tuesday, February 9th.  The top two vote-getters in each race will advance to the general election for City Council on Tuesday, April 6th.  To make sure you are registered to vote, please visit:

Facebook Twitter Email