News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: April 7, 2021

Residents Elect Davis, Mugg and Peterson to Represent Edmond


Edmond Ward 3 Councilmember candidate Sheryl Janis has filed a Petition for Recount of the April 6, 2021 election.  The recount will be conducted Tuesday, April 20, 2021, at 10:00 a.m.

Edmond residents made their selections on Tuesday for three open City Council seats with a total of 10,839 votes being cast in the election.  Darrell Davis was selected to serve as Mayor, while Christin Mugg and Stacie Peterson will represent Wards 3 and 4, respectively.  All election results are unofficial until certified by the Oklahoma County Election Board.

Mr. Davis was selected to serve a two-year Mayoral term that will run through 2023.  He has served as the Ward 3 Councilman since November 2011.

Ms. Mugg and Ms. Peterson are both first-time elected officials in the City of Edmond.  Their City Council appointments are for four years and will run through 2025.

Once certified, a formal swearing-in ceremony for the candidates will take place in the Edmond City Council Chambers on Monday, May 3.  

The Edmond City Council is comprised of five members: the Mayor and one member from each of Edmond’s four Wards. They serve part-time at the head of the City’s Council-Manager form of government. The Mayor’s annual salary is $6,000, and each Council member’s annual salary is $4,200.

The next City Council election will take place in 2023 for Mayor, Ward 1 and Ward 2.